Focus on the Equal Rights Amendment

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled (two-thirds of each House concurring therein), That the following article is proposed as an amendment to the Constitution of the United States, which shall be valid to all intents and purposes as part of the Constitution when ratified by the legislatures of three-fourths of the several States within seven years from the date of its submission by the Congress:


Section 1. Equality of rights under the law shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any State on account of sex.

Sec. 2. The Congress shall have the power to enforce, by appropriate legislation, the provisions of this article.

Sec. 3. This amendment shall take effect two years after the date of ratification.”

Historical Background and Foundations of the Proposed Amendment 

The majority of VFA members and honorees were active in building the foundations for the original passage of the ERA and in lobbying for its future passage. Here are some of their stories. Click on a name or photo below to learn more.

Click here to see our complete collection of Second Wave Feminists.

Dr.Susan Anthony II Rev. Willie T. Barrow Mickey Beil Mary Bennett
Margaret Blackshere Karen Boehning Mary Brandon Nancy Burton
Laura Carter Callow Virginia Carter Jacqui Ceballos Alice Chapman
Pam Chapman Gwen Sawyer Cherry Shirley Chisholm David Clarenbach
Mary Jean Collins Alice Cohan Roxanne Conlin

Peggy Conlon-Madigan

Betsy Crone Nancy Drum Dawson Clara Day Harry Demarest
Merry Demarest Carole DeSaram Suzanne Doty Sue Errington
Karen Fishman Ginny Foat Muriel FoxMuriel Fox Betty Friedan
Gail Gabler Linda Ginenthal Judy Goldsmith Marcia Greenberger
Alan Greiman Edith Grinnell Jane Guthrie Dorothy Haener
Dorothy Height Dr. Marilyn Heins Barbara Helmick Aileen Hernandez
Alison Hughes Dori Jacobson-Wenzel Gloria Johnson Lynn Kanter
Nancy Keenan  Darlene Kemmerer Carol King Judith Knee
Barb Lackner Anne Ladky Kristin Lems Judith Lonnquist
Mary-Ann Lupa Ellen Malcolm Judith Meuli Joyce Miller
Carol Moseley Braun Vicki Moss Judith Nedrow Helen Ramirez Odell
Sandy Oestreich Joannie Parker Jane Plitt Paula Johnson Purdue
Kathy Rand  Colette Roberts Sylvia Roberts Pam Ross
Mary Anne Sedey Nancy Shier Mavra Stark Mandy Stellman
Sue Straus Wilma Stevens Caroline Swinney Annie Sykes
 Marcy Syms Tina Tchen Betsy Thomas Karline Tierney
Hermione Tobolowsky Mary Vasiliades Bette Vidina Mary Jane Vogt
Jacquelin Washington Virginia S. Watkins Kathy Webb  Linda J. Wharton
Nan Wood Rev.Addie Wyatt